RSS

9/11 – 7 year Anniversary – Never Forget

11 Sep

I sit here remembering every little detail of that morning 7 years ago, and I get the same chills over again. 

Watching the breaking news that one of the Twin Towers was hit, thinking “Wow, something must have really gone wrong with the plane or pilot for such a tragic thing to have happened”.  And then at the bus stop one of the other Mothers told me about the 2nd tower being hit…and reality sunk in, like a punch to the gut. 

I was afraid of putting my children on the school bus, afraid to show them my reaction of what I feared had truly happened.

The rest of the day I was glued to the television, flipping thru ABC, CBS, NBC and CNN.  I tried to walk away, but could not.  I accomplished no work that day, only the flowing of non-stop tears.  My husband had the option of coming home for the day, but chose not to. 

The next few days were eery…the silence in the skies, except for the occassional fighter jet was bone chilling.  Talking to our elementary age children about what happened was difficult but necessary. 

Today our flag is flying, to honor those who perished, and those who fight on…for you & for me…

NEVER FORGET!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 11, 2008 in Blogroll, General Chit Chat, News, Newsletter

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “9/11 – 7 year Anniversary – Never Forget

  1. Lori

    September 11, 2008 at 7:47 am

    Yes, I remember it well. My dad called and told me to turn on the television because something terrible was happening in New York. It was beyond anythin we could have imagined. It was as if the world had stopped. My daughter waved a small flag while riding her bike up and down the side walk in front of our house. It was her way of expressing her feelings.

    God Bless America! May we never forget and learn from that tragic day.

     

Leave a Reply

 
