RSS

Being a Mompreneur

16 Mar

Mompreneur

Mompreneur: A Mom who is also an Entrepreneur.When I left the “real” work place 16 years ago, I never dreamed I would be doing what I am today.  I left because we had a 1 ½ year old, and then twins.  Yes, life was very crazy in our household, and we had always planned on me being a Stay at Home Mom.  But 1 question always irritated me? “Do you work?” Of course I learned to correct those people, and said “You mean, do I work outside of the house?” Being a Mom was my passion, and I worked very hard at it…and still do.Flash forward years later, and a daughter desperately wanting Santa to bring her the Barbie VW Bug car…in pink.  All of the stores were sold out, and I turned to the Internet, and eBay.  I found one, and paid more than they were selling for in the stores,  but the look on her face Christmas morning…priceless!  From that point on I was hooked on the idea of online buying and selling.  I started with items I had from my closet, with tags still on.  Still don’t know how those extra clothes got there LOL People liked what I sold, & I liked earning a little money to help the household income.

The next 4 years I dabbled in other products and subsequently opened a store, had a custom template made and got a little more serious.  The last 2 years I got even more serious and opened up a website, and branched onto Amazon as well.  While the learning process can be frustrating, it is also exhilarating!  I love thinking outside the box, and communicating with others who are in similar situations.  I love the flexibility that things are done on my time, and I can walk away from the office anytime I want.  Although with laptops, the office seems to be with me more often than not. I have so far resisted the urge for a Blackberry ;-)  Hiring people to help with the business is a learning curve, and a definite sign of growth & more freedom for me.

The one constant throughout these year is putting my family first.  Whoever came up with the name Mompreneur sure had the order of words right for me.  I occasionally still get asked “Do you work?” or “Where do you work”. I tell them I work from home, and if I feel the need, I further explain what I do.  Yes, our kids are much older, and the oldest is able to drive himself.  But knowing I can drop everything and be there for them is one of the greatest feelings in the world.  Knowing how much I have accomplished while multi-tasking for 16 years is a great feeling of pride.  And seeing how much my family appreciates me as a Mom, and how cool they think my business stuff is…priceless.

Old World Limited

 
 

One response to “Being a Mompreneur

  1. Deanna White

    April 29, 2008 at 8:52 am

    I too, am a Mompreneur. Although it has its challenges, I love every moment of it. Mine little one is much younger, but it all came down to travel for me – it just wasn’t in the cards– so I started consulting and haven’t looked back since. There’s a woman with a similar story who started Mompreneur magazine… it and has some great networking opportunities…worth a quick glance if you haven’t done so already.
    http://storylinepr.wordpress.com/2008/04/28/balancing-act/

    Cheers
    A fellow Mompreneur
    Deanna

     

Leave a Reply

 
